Animal Welfare Five Needs

The concept of "Five Needs" for animal welfare comes from the Animal Welfare Act enacted in the United Kingdom in 2006. It is used to protect animals that can be properly cared for and treated appropriately to avoid unnecessary suffering. Taking the amphibians and reptiles as an example, even if chelonian, we can still classify them into turtles and tortoises. So it can't be generalized. We need to provide appropriate husbandry depending on the species and situations.

 

The following are the "Animal Welfare Five Needs":

1) A suitable diet

2) A suitable environment 

3) Exhibit normal behaviour patterns

4) To be protected from pain, suffering, injury and disease

5) To be housed with, or apart from, other animals 

 

1) A suitable diet

Apart from providing the correspondence food and clean water at appropriate times, attention should also be paid to whether the nutrition and portion of food are correct. For example, juvenile red-eared sliders can ingest relatively higher levels of animal protein than adults. Therefore, owners can choose high-quality turtle food that matches their life stages. In addition, if the animals are undergoing veterinary treatment, they need to be fed according to the veterinarian's recommendations, and even provide nutritional supplements if needed. A proper diet can certainly prevent not only malnutrition, but also obesity and overweight.

 

2) A suitable environment 

Compare with cats and dogs, amphibians and reptiles are more static and less interactive, so we have to provide a stable environment with suitable equipment to avoid stress due to frequent changes. Using the African spurred tortoises as an example, they are the third largest tortoise in the world which can grow to 70 to 80 cm. When they are young, they can still live inside a suitable size tank; but when they grow up, due to their massive sizes, their owners need to provide an outdoor environment, such as a rooftop or garden at home, so they can have enough space and sunlight. Besides, the owners should also provide water bowls, substrates, thermal equipment, etc. These are very important to create a suitable environment.

 

3) Exhibit normal behaviour patterns

Amphibians and reptiles have many natural behaviours, but they are easily ignored by their owners, probably because we seldom put ourselves in their shoes! Imagine if an animal can't exhibit normal behaviour for a long time. It is very likely to cause physical and mental issues, especially they don't know how to tell us " how much pressure they are under". Therefore, the owners need to allow animals to exhibit normal behaviour patterns in their daily care to ensure animal welfare. For example, the Chinese water dragon is an arboreal diurnal lizard, and the owners should provide climbing sites by using mimic tree branches for sunbathing.

 

4) To be protected from pain, suffering, injury and disease

In nature, where is the survival of the fittest, amphibians and reptiles are sometimes hunted by other animals. So they won't easily reveal their weaknesses, including diseases, to the outside world. It is because these may pose fatal dangers to them. It is the same under our care, in most cases, the disease is imperceptible in the early stage as it doesn't show symptoms until the last moment. Taking the horned frogs as an example, if we found their bodies red and swollen, please don't hesitate and seek medical attention immediately. Seeking professional veterinary treatment is the only way to improve the animal's chances of recovery. Since we don't know what's going on, we shouldn't use medicine indiscriminately, which will only aggravate the animal's suffering and even cause irreparable harm. Additionally, the owners must also treat their pets well, provide appropriate care, and prevent the animal from suffering pain or stress physically and psychologically.

 

5) To be housed with, or apart from, other animals 

Some social animals, such as dogs, they can get along better with other dogs, but most amphibians and reptiles don't. Using kingsnakes as an example, they have no concept of companionship, so they don't feel lonely, and even like to be alone. If the owners force two kingsnakes to coexist, it will only cause pressure on them, and even attack each other causing casualties. To sum up, amphibians and reptiles don't need to coexist with others in most cases, but need to be kept separately. 

 

"Animal welfare" requires multi-perspective thinking. Owners shouldn't only consider "what do I need them to be", but also "what do they need", so that it is easier to put ourselves in the "animal welfare".

WhatsApp Image 2022-07-02 at 7.31.45 AM.jpeg

動物福利五大需求

動物福利的「五大需求」概念,是來自英國於2006年訂立的動物福利法,為保障動物能被妥善照顧及合適對待,以免承受不必要痛苦。若以兩棲及爬行動物作為例子,即使同樣是龜,也有水龜和陸龜之分,因此並不能一概而論,我們需要視乎個別物種和情況,提供合適的日常護理。

 

以下為「動物福利五大需求」:

1) 合適飲食

2) 合適環境

3) 表現正常行為模式

4) 免受痛楚、痛苦、傷害和疾病

5) 與其他動物共處或分開

 

1) 合適飲食

除了於適當時候提供相應的食物及乾淨的水源外,亦要注意食物的營養及份量是否正確。例如,幼體紅耳龜相比成體可攝取較高動物性蛋白。因此,主人可以選擇配合其生命階段的優質龜糧。此外,如果個別動物正接受獸醫療程,便需要依照醫生建議餵食,甚至提供營養補充品。當然,合適的飲食不但可以防止營養不良,而且可以防止肥胖及過重。

 

2) 合適環境

相比貓狗,兩爬動物大多較為靜態,互動性相對較低,所以我們需要提供一個穩定的環境,並配有合適設備,避免因經常轉變而對其造成壓力。以盾臂龜作為例子,牠們是世界上第三大陸龜,能生長到70至80厘米。小時候,牠們還可以住在合適大小的飼養箱內;但長大後,由於牠們體型龐大,因此主人便需要提供戶外環境,如家中的天台或花園,讓牠們有足夠的活動空間及太陽光。另外,主人亦需要提供水盆、底材、及保暖設備等,以締造一個適合的飼養環境。

 

3) 表現正常行為模式

兩爬動物有很多自然的行為,但很容易被主人忽略,大概可能是我們較少代入牠們吧!試想想,假如一隻動物長期不能表現正常的行為,牠極有可能造成身心受損,尤其是兩爬動物不懂告訴我們「牠們正在承受多大的壓力」。因此,主人需要在日常護理中讓動物表現正常的行為模式,以確保動物福利。例如,中國水龍是一種樹棲的日行性蜥蜴,主人便應該提供仿樹枝的攀爬處讓牠們享受日光浴。

 

4) 免受痛楚、痛苦、傷害和疾病

在弱肉強食的大自然裏,兩爬動物有時候會被獵食,所以牠們不會輕易向外界表露弱點,包括病症,因為這些對牠們可能會構成致命的危險。在我們的照顧下都一樣,大多情況下疾病初期是難以察覺的,不到最後一刻也不會表露病症。以角蛙為例,如果我們發現牠們身體紅腫,請不要猶豫並立即求醫。尋求專業獸醫治療是唯一的方法,亦可以提高動物痊癒的機會。由於我們不清楚是甚麼情況,因此請勿自行胡亂用藥,這樣只會加深動物痛苦,甚至造成不可挽回的傷害。除此之外,主人當然亦要善待寵物,提供合適護理,避免動物身體及心理承受痛苦或壓力。

 

 

5) 與其他動物共處或分開

有些社會化動物,例如狗,較易與其他同類相處,但大多兩爬動物並不合適。以王蛇作為例子,牠們沒有同伴概念,因此牠們不會感到孤單,甚至喜歡獨處。若主人強行將兩條王蛇共處,只會對牠們造成壓力,甚至互相攻擊引致傷亡。總括而言,大多情況下兩爬動物並不需要與同類共處,而是需要分開飼養。

 

「動物福利」需要多方面思考,主人不應該只考慮「我需要牠們怎樣」,更應該考慮「牠們需要甚麼」,這樣便能更容易設身處地理解「動物福利」。

WhatsApp Image 2022-07-02 at 7.31.45 AM.jpeg